Skip to content
1 October 2010 / April

Grace Hopper: progress report

So I’m at a conference for women in computer science from Wednesday evening through Saturday morning.  It’s incredibly exciting.

It’s also in Atlanta, and when my immune system realized I was heading down south again, after all that last summer, it flipped a shit.  This’ll teach her to take me south of the Mason-Dixon line, it grumbled, and laughed maniacally in the way immune systems do. (Don’t deny it. You’ve heard it too.)

Anyway, in case the sudden vacuum in my blog (I know, it sucks) hasn’t cued you in, I’m rather busy this year.  Think of it as the unhappy intersection of many happy things: math classes involving real proofs, cooking, TAing, more TAing, having a boyfriend, having a life.  Add to this baseline of busyness a conference that takes me out of two days of classes and professors that (un)fortunately have accepted email as a valid method of turning in assignments (read: no extensions*).  Add to this an illness that makes focusing, indeed staying awake, very difficult.  Bring to a boil, add a pinch of overstimulation, and let simmer for three days.  Serves 12.

Anyway (again), this is my very first conference.  There have been more talks than I can handle (some fascinating and well-presented, a few less so), lots of free swag, a couple interviews which I may or may not have conducted while suffering the symptoms of illness which may or may not explain a lot (I hope you’re reading this Yahoo), some dubious food, some meeting new people, not very much going outside, a lot of caffeine (it’s not helping).

I will probably provide more details (e.g. raging with beluga whales, tonight!) once I’m back at Williams and have uploaded photos, but then again, see paragraph three.  It might never happen.

*It turns out that claiming a lack of internet during a computer science conference engenders much skepticism.  Who knew.

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Amy / Oct 1 2010 5:45 pm

    “the sudden vacuum in my blog (I know, it sucks)” 😀

    • April / Oct 1 2010 5:47 pm

      I’m glad you appreciate it. Also, wow you’re fast.

      • Amy / Oct 1 2010 5:48 pm

        I actually laughed out loud for about 10 seconds.

        • Amy / Oct 1 2010 5:49 pm

          Perhaps I am too easily amused. I just typed “maused” instead of “amused,” which I also find amusing.

        • April / Oct 1 2010 5:51 pm

          It’s even better if you literally imagine a vacuum cleaner suddenly appearing on my blog. Or maybe that’s what was amusing you…

          • Amy / Oct 1 2010 5:58 pm

            I didn’t imagine a vacuum cleaner per se, just a gaping hole of nothingness where my browser window should have been sucking my head into its bottomless depths. (Head only, because my shoulders would not fit through my browser window.)

Leave a Reply

