Skip to content
28 August 2010 / April

The past two weeks, ready set GO

So you want to know what’s been going on in my life during the past two weeks.  Well!  Luckily for us both, I have pictures.  Because there’s no way I’m writing about all the shenanigans that have gone down during the past two weeks.

The first thing you should know about is Solid Sound, the three-day music festival at Mass MoCA.  I volunteered, which meant free admission and a t-shirt.  Basically the best decision ever.

DSCN6586

DSCN6564 DSCN6571

IMG_0879

DSCN6676

Easy parking attendant work, getting up close and personal with some cool bands, hilarious stand-up comedy…  And Jeff Tweedy (lead of Wilco) on acoustic guitar, in the rain, to close out the festival. And of course there was Wilco itself.  I had previously thought Wilco was good.  Wilco live, with the lights shining and the crowd singing along and the jokes and the encores and the excitement, was pure magic.

DSCN6669

Then there was the last week of work, when with a “tar -cvf nebula.tar summer/” Kaylee and I finished our summer’s contributions to the Nebula project.  Woohoo!  Plus Tom and Fern fed us all dinner, James and I built a fort, Brent danced for us, Jeannie had a baby (!!!)… oh, the Williams CS family.

Plus Nick showed up and brought the good weather with him, and cooked me copious amounts of delicious pasta and introduced me to Quentin Tarantino (not personally). Then he took me to Montreal.

In case you haven’t noticed, this is one of those blog entries in which NOTHING GOES WRONG.

First we stopped in Burlington.  For those wondering, Burlington is exactly like Ithaca with a bigger lake.  And cow art.

DSCN6700

And for those wondering, Montreal is exactly like the quintessential European city.

DSCN6739

DSCN6735

DSCN6773

DSCN6750

DSCN6804

DSCN6798

The highlight of the trip (besides the adorable B&B and gorgeous sights and legal drinks and chasing ducks in a paddleboat and being with Nick and gaaaah the trip was so wonderful) was the food.  I’ve never eaten so well or so abundantly in my life.  Every meal put me in my happy place.  Every bite of every meal.  I am clearly dating someone with an appreciation for good food.  I appreciate this.

And I can’t wait for our next trip.

DSCN6807

Leave a Reply

