Skip to content
15 June 2010 / April

Things that happened on SUNDAY

I guess the most exciting day of the near past, unless you want to here about my completely uninteresting cooking/baking exploits in excruciating detail (tomatoes!), was Saturday Sunday (thanks Hannah).  This I decided would be an excellent day for: (1) a sea turtle puzzle/omelettes/canned Indian food meet-up; (2) page-turning at Marza’s senior recital; and (3) a recording session with Rayleigh.

I tend to lump my events together.  It’s a family thing.

Typical quotes from (1)

Raffi: “I think this is the flipper of the lower-left subturtle…”

Eva: “Is that a cheese?!”

Me: “Okay, I think you’ve beaten those eggs into submission.”

Rayleigh: “Here, I can flip the omelette–”
Everyone: “NO!”

(2) was about as jaw-dropping and wonderful as I’ve come to expect from years of hearing and performing with Marza.  And I got to turn pages for my piano teacher like old times.  It was fun.

Then Rayleigh and I headed to IC for (3).  This was a recording of a partially finished viola/harpsichord sonata by Rayleigh’s “composer friend” who is really more of an acquaintance than a friend, but whatever.

Given that there may be no other existing recordings of this piece, I’m little tiny bit concerned that said composer will excitedly listen to our work to hear what his piece sounds like with real instruments and wonder why the pianist isn’t playing the part he wrote.  Well, it’s not like I play much piano anymore.  And in my defense, my violist was, ahem, not exceptionally gifted in the rhythm and counting department.  Just sayin’.

Anyway, thanks to the law of diminishing returns (see, for example, this), we weren’t really making progress by hour 3.  We might be trying again later, but frankly I’m just hoping composer friend is not flighty with anticipation for this recording.

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Hannah / Jun 15 2010 9:29 pm

    …except that it was actually Sunday.

  2. April / Jun 15 2010 9:37 pm

    *thinks*
    Damn.
    Thanks.

  3. rezecib / Jun 17 2010 8:15 am

    Personally, I preferred the “inner isolated subturtle.”

    • April / Jun 18 2010 1:38 pm

      But there were two inner isolated subturtles…

Leave a Reply

