Skip to content
29 March 2010 / April

Word count: 328

In the midst of the constant and unrelenting “I should definitely be doing work right now” mentality that my beloved Williams has given me, it failed to occur to me that studying for a midterm nearly two weeks in advance is not only something I would never dream of doing while school is in session, but in fact a generally bad idea, unless my goal is to spend said midterm thinking, “Oh, I remember studying this information, but I don’t actually remember the information itself…”

This didn’t stop me from reviewing my CS notes today though, which gave me the opportunity to see some delightful Steve-isms I’d written in the margins, like “Overloaded functions are an egregious hack.”  I’ve always been an advocate of annotating my notes with jokes and other amusing things, for exactly this reason: studying them later becomes just ever so slightly more tolerable.  Drawings of sea turtles (8th grade math class) or lions on planes in space (multivariable calc) also serve this purpose.

Huh, I guess it’s possible that I doodle more in math classes than other classes, though I don’t know why that would be the case.  I think it has to do with the fact that math class lectures are incredibly predictable; you can generally write down the theorems and examples on the board and just listen to the rest.  In other classes I feel compelled to take much more thorough notes because it’s a little harder for me to instinctively gauge what’s worth writing down and what’s not.

At any rate, I’m rambling now.  To be perfectly honest, the entire reason this post exists is because that first sentence is 85 words long, yet (in my opinion) more comprehensible than some of my more concise sentences.  All this is just filler.  Unbeknownst to you, you could’ve stopped reading after 85 words, but instead you’ve read almost 250 more.  Aren’t you glad I’m telling you this now?

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. You know / Mar 30 2010 12:00 pm

    Essay (no more than 300 words). Describe your background on your instrument or with early music performance in general, give us both your short-term and long-term goals in early music, where you see yourself five years from now, explain why you want or need a scholarship and what you hope to get out of the workshop you’re applying to, and provide any other information you think will be helpful. 3 copies.

    (It’s gone back up to 350 words. Help!)

    • April / Mar 30 2010 1:34 pm

      Send it to me?

Leave a Reply

