Skip to content
23 March 2010 / April

Space ducks: a blog entry in three parts

PART I: WILLIAMS

Last Friday, after a lot of last-minute packing and persuading StewJo not to assign us homework (I told him my happiness depended on it; I should try that more often), I wandered into Eco Cafe and stumbled upon, of all people, Maddie and Kalila!  What a surprise!

I took them to the best lunch place Williams has to offer, the ’82 Grill, then we sat on Paresky lawn and ate gelato and soaked up sunshine.  It was a beautiful way to spend my last day at Williams before break.

PART II: NEW YORK CITY

With Emily.  During which we thanked god for iPhones many a time.

PART IIa: MoMA

The next time I hit up NYC, I’m spending more than an hour in MoMA.  That’s all I’m saying.  (But a picture is worth yadda yadda yadda.)

DSCN6179

DSCN6178

DSCN6188

PART IIb: HAIR

Hair was a truly awesome hippietastic Broadway show.  It reminded me of Across the Universe, although chronologically speaking, I suppose I should say Across the Universe reminds me of Hair: a thinly constructed plot set in the ’60s, connecting great musical numbers and featuring beautiful actors… One of these actors gave me flowers.  And there was a dance party onstage afterwards (open to the audience, though we sadly did not get to participate).

PART IIc: APPLE STORE

DSCN6195

Emily: “Don’t get disappointed when you go downstairs and it’s just another Apple store.”
Me: “Well, I’ve never been to an Apple store before…”
Emily: “!!!”

PART IId: ALICE IN WONDERLAND

Saturday evening we went to a ginormous movie theater (well, everything’s bigger in NYC) to see Alice in Wonderland in IMAX 3D.  It was visually stunning and fun to watch, and not nearly as creepy as the previews and publicity photos made it seem.  Or maybe it was just that by the time we actually watched the movie, we were so inured to the Tim Burton creepiness, via said previews and photos, that it just wasn’t striking anymore.

What was striking was how little the movie had in common with the Lewis Carroll’s book.  That book was unique, unusual, atypical.  Strip away the cool 3D imagery, and the movie was a very typical movie with a very typical (and notably existent) plot.  Presumably a movie as quirky as the book would not have done well in the box office.  But nonetheless, I felt a little let down at how normal it was behind all the superficial weirdness.

I guess I heard similar things about Avatar, the other movie I wanted to see in IMAX.  So whatever.

PART IIe: PENGUINS and SPACE DUCKS

This is the view I woke up to Sunday morning in Emily’s sister’s apartment.  That’s the Empire State Building on the right.

IMG_0469

We went to Prune and had possibly the best brunch ever, then wandered around a lot.  This wandering included a visit to a tiny shop stuffed floor to ceiling with some very bizarre candy.

IMG_0470

“Space Duck Pops: Mild Mannered Duck by Day, Intergalactic Super Hero by Night!”

PART III: ITHACA

High on the list of things I wasn’t expecting was being stranded outside the Greyhound station in my own hometown.  I mean, I expect the Pittsfield bus station to close obscenely early; I expect better from Ithaca.

If I hadn’t been laden with a suitcase, I absolutely would have walked to my mom’s restaurant and demanded Chinese takeout for dinner.  But as I was laden with a suitcase, I only considered walking to my mom’s restaurant, and opted instead to sit on a rock and wait sullenly – and demand dinner at Wegmans.

So we went to Wegmans (AKA the place where I know 75% of the cashiers because they’re all IHS students), and then to Green Star, and it was all so gloriously Ithacan.

Then I got home.  Home, where it is somehow STILL COLD AS FUCK, where the shower head could fall off and kill you at any moment, where the dog is excessively hairy, where there are many mushrooms.  Oh spring break.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. kati / Mar 24 2010 8:34 pm

    HOLY FUCKNUGGETS YOU GOT TO SEE HAIR?!?! My jealousy is off the charts. I’ve heard only great reviews of this revival and holy crap jealous jealous jealous.

    (Yeah, I guess NYC and Ithaca are cool too.)

    • April / Mar 24 2010 10:05 pm

      I know, Hair reminded me so much of you… you would’ve loved it! If you get a chance to see it, I definitely recommend it.

Leave a Reply

