Skip to content
20 December 2009 / April

The end of the semester, the laptop battery game, and so many shoes

After a multivariable final that wasn’t so bad and a linguistics final that was equally not so bad, I felt pretty cocky about my CS final.  So despite having nothing else to do except this one 2.5 hour self-scheduled exam  between Friday and leaving on Monday Tuesday, I decided to just get it over with and take it Friday afternoon.

It kind of sucked.

However!  After it was over I felt so ridiculously happy, because my first semester of college had ended at last.  It was a really wonderful semester, but I need a break.  And now all that stretches before me are two weeks of break and four weeks of pseudo-break, AKA winter study, AKA what I am looking forward to more than break itself.

Unfortunately our entry has been undergoing some ridiculous computer-related issues, perhaps indicating that our machines are experiencing end-of-semester stress as well.  First Harper’s charger stopped working, then Emily lost hers and thus was forced to leave her laptop here over break.  Then Kylen actually forgot her laptop and left it in the common room, which kind of boggles my mind because I didn’t know that was possible.

The most disastrous was a tragic water-laptop encounter that apparently left Liz’s laptop dead with the beginnings of her ten-page paper on it.  Which is basically my worst nightmare.  The first thing I did upon hearing about it was back up my hard drive.

Luckily, it turned out the only problem was charging her battery.  Thus she and I spent Saturday swapping laptop batteries so I could charge them and she could use them.  The laptop battery game is just so much fun.  Overall she was a hero about seeing the silver lining of her situation, but it was still a hell of a way to spend her last days at Williams before break.

Then some of us– the ones who didn’t have work to do, plus Ben who definitely did have work to do but definitely wasn’t doing it– had a movie marathon, during which we watched Revolutionary Road, Up (FINALLY), and Clue.  Oh my goodness, Up is basically my new favorite thing in the entire world.

Anyway, all this is to say I stayed up late last night and therefore slept in till 12:30 today, and then Laura and I had an epic cleaning party because our common room is downright filthy and she wanted to rearrange the furniture a little.  For all you Pratt 3-ers who have left (which is basically all of you. Losers), you are in for a minor surprise come January.  You are also probably in for a reunion with some of your lost belongings, including a lot of shoes.

Cleaning is so cathartic.  And it made me feel so productive, even though my week’s to-do list of ten items still has five items unchecked.  Well, one of those items is “Gah,” so I think I can check that one off.  There, that’s better.

IMG_0401

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Teresa Halpert / Dec 20 2009 5:32 pm

    Congratulations on finishing a college semester! But I have to say that “Up” was so very disturbing in multiple ways… (One small example–where were the female dogs? Somehow the original dogs multiplied into a vast dog army without any mamas…)

    • April / Dec 20 2009 7:10 pm

      Thanks! And regarding Up, I don’t think they were really aiming for total scientific accuracy with this movie…

Leave a Reply

