Skip to content
29 September 2009 / April

Chem majors are nice

I didn’t get lost in the science building today (perhaps my goal is not unattainable after all), but I did spend a little time looking for a bathroom in the second floor of Chemistry.

I wandered into a lounge, saw some people sitting around, didn’t see a bathroom, turned and was walking back down the hall when I heard someone call after me, “Hey!  Are you looking for chemistry snacks?”  (Apparently, a lot of departments here have weekly snacks out of a deep yearning for the beloved entry snacks of freshman year.)

“No, I’m not.”

“Are you in any chemistry classes?”

“No–”

“Are you interested in chemistry?”

I walked back a little ways.  “Do I get free food if I say yes?”

They nodded eagerly.  They were such a small group of people for what is certainly a fairly large department, and they seemed awfully pitiful and even desperate– and free food is always a draw.

The carrot with hummus was halfway to my mouth when I paused.  “I feel like I should introduce myself before I eat your food.  I’m April.”  Then I ate the carrot.

A lot of my social interactions at Williams are like this.

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Amy / Sep 29 2009 11:30 pm

    Did you ever find that bathroom though?

    • April / Sep 29 2009 11:33 pm

      No, but it wasn’t urgent.

  2. Rafael Lizarralde / Sep 30 2009 10:48 am

    That is amazing…. It’s hard to find free food, here. 😦

  3. kati / Oct 1 2009 11:23 pm

    dude, ballin.
    over.

Leave a Reply

