Skip to content
17 August 2009 / April

I can’t write this, but I tried anyway

Footloose.  There are no words.

Except thank you.  To everyone, all the hundreds of people, who came to watch and cheer and energize and remind us all exactly why we do what we do.  And to everyone who made Footloose and my participation possible– not only possible but unforgettable and probably unsurpassable, at least for me.

(Insert here what I wish I had the words to say.)

Pit orchestra members didn’t have to strike the set after our closing performance yesterday, fortunately in my opinion since taking apart that beautiful set that so much work went into would have been kind of sad.*  But I did help untangle the ridiculous April-tripping fire hazard-y mess of cords in the pit and carry one of the keyboards to Mikey’s car.  It didn’t actually fit, but it was so damn close we decided to just leave it there and pretend.  I wonder if Mikey drove home with the door of the backseat open and a keyboard sticking out of it.

I would have stayed to move the second keyboard, but I was feeling guilty for “making” Maddie wait.  Because we had an important social function to attend.  I skipped the Footloose party for it, so you know it was important.  It was… hanging out with a bunch of Asian and Jewish nerds.  Oops, I mean the Tattler picnic.  Oops, those are the same thing.

I actually haven’t hung out with a bunch of nerds since like high school, so I had a really good time, even if Raffi hit me with a Frisbee twice and Rayleigh asked a gathering of Turkish people whether they had matches so he could light a cookie on fire.  We told lame jokes that are actually hilarious, and the few of us who weren’t vegetarians ate burgers, and we considered how you would go about procuring your own country.  When the skies of the world become populated with independent nations consisting of helium-filled plastic bottle islands, you can thank us.  Or blame us.

In the evening I went to see Ponyo with a similar but not identical set of nerds.  It was actually my first time in the new Cinemapolis, which was neat.

ponyo

The movie itself was not particularly complex or brilliant, but it made me smile for two straight hours and had a theme song that managed to drive Footloose out of my head for the first time in four weeks, so I would call it worthwhile.  It was extremely amusing and almost unbearably adorable, so if you’re in the mood for that sort of thing, go see it.  You will come out feeling giggly and hungry for ham.

When I got home, Maddie and Evvie and I played towers until Evvie won, which took about an hour because Evvie has bizarrely bad luck.  Then we listened to Norah Jones and talked and went to sleep.

Wow.  Despite there now being a vast and tragic void in my soul where Footloose once was, yesterday was pretty awesome.

* This sentence confuses the hell out of me.  I think it needs some commas and probably an editor.

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Rafael Lizarralde / Aug 17 2009 2:14 pm

    “Pit orchestra members didn’t have to strike the set after our closing performance yesterday, fortunately in my opinion since taking apart that beautiful set that so much work went into would have been kind of sad.*”

    Pit orchestra members didn’t have to strike the set after our closing performance yesterday—fortunately, in my opinion, as taking apart that beautiful set, into which so much work went, would have been kind of sad.

    Not really much better, but it wasn’t bad to begin with.

  2. Rafael Lizarralde / Aug 17 2009 2:15 pm

    Oh, and… Ponyo, ponyo, fishy in the sea!

  3. Kati / Aug 17 2009 3:58 pm

    Unsurpassable. That’s a good word for this whole experience. I realized a few days ago that until Footloose, Germany was the best experience of my life. The key words being “until Footloose.”

    I know I say this a lot, but I’m so happy you were a part of the show. I’m especially grateful because it’s something for which you’d normally get paid mad dollas [yo.]

    Any holy fuck, the pit was SO. GOOD. And so on. Did you guys ever mess up? Ever?

  4. April / Aug 17 2009 10:14 pm

    Raffi: Yeah, I’d be better off splitting it into two sentences.

    Kati: Hah, of course we messed up, but it wasn’t (usually) catastrophic…

Trackbacks

  1. Miyazaki’s Best Comes to Cinemapolis « Phantom Fandom: A Look Into Fan Subcultures of Tompkins County

Leave a Reply

