Skip to content
20 July 2009 / April

An exercise in celerity

Oh look, it’s been three days since my last blog post.  Let’s fix that.

On (any) Sunday I moved into Maddie’s castle, for convenience’s sake and also because I kind of love Maddie a lot.  Then…

… wait.

Sunday was YESTERDAY?!  Oh god, the past two days have been the longest days of my life.

I had another Suzuki Institute class Sunday afternoon, and after that I decided it was a good day to walk to the youth bureau.  This is because it was not hot and not raining and not sunny (although sunny would’ve been fine by me too).  The scientific term for this kind of weather is “fucking perfect walking weather.”  Remember that for the quiz next week, kids.

Except then it became sunny, despite having threatened rain for the entire rest of the day.  This is because I had my umbrella with me.  At this point feel free to perform a blog search for magic weather powers or umbrellas or the Latin regents or getting a new laptop, because at least some of those should perhaps lead you to a blog post explaining my weather-controlling capabilities.  I would do it myself, but look at the title of this post.  I actually should really not be blogging at all right now.

You can stop reading now.

By the way, I was going to the youth bureau to get music for FOOTLOOSE, which they didn’t have for me because the photocopier was broken.  Then today I went to Gail’s office at IC to get music for FOOTLOOSE, which they had for me but only the odd pages, which was not all that useful.  Then today I went to the youth bureau again to get music for FOOTLOOSE, and they HAD IT and a chorus of angels broke out in song, the chorus of angels known as Running to Places.

Apparently Footloose scores are a scarcity.  They’re like an endangered species.  If you see one during your lifetime, you may consider yourself lucky.  If you get to take one home with you, you may consider yourself luckier or perhaps a poacher, depending on how far you want to take the rather ill-fitting analogy.

Anyway, I did a lot of sightreading at rehearsal today but Erica (our vocal director) and Robert (our music assistant and also Erica’s Official Homie) and all the vocalists were very tolerant of my lack of sightreading skills.  So it was fun!  Also we definitely rehearsed half the time outside, with a karate class being taught nearby.  This is how R2P works.  And don’t make fun of it, because there are definitely videos on Facebook of epic stunts being done on the very first rehearsal.  That’s how R2P works too.

Then I walked (very quickly) back home (where home=Maddie’s) and was in a ridiculously good mood and was very hyper and had ice cream and did some other things.

My better judgement is telling me to not post this because it’s a rather shoddy blog job.  This blog post will self-destruct in 5, 4, 3, 2, 1…

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Rafael Lizarralde / Jul 21 2009 8:16 am

    Why is it called “sightreading”? Is it often practiced along with Braille?

  2. April / Jul 21 2009 10:03 am

    Because you’re playing it at first sight, I guess. As opposed to reading, which you do if you’ve looked at the music a couple times.

Leave a Reply

