Skip to content
15 July 2009 / April

Onions of awesomeness and digital wingmen

So Suzuki Institute is still just Suzuki Institute: cute kids, lots of Twinkle.

The other thing that has been eating up my waking hours, however, is Viva La Femme, the Running to Places fundraiser slash all-female performance of showtunes.  Showtunes that I’ve been trying to learn in a matter of days and failing quite epically at.  Needless to say, you should definitely come.  Watching April fail epically is entertainment well worth the $8 or $10.

Seriously, though, these performers are at least seven layers of awesome.  They are veritable onions of awesomeness.

I used all my charm and finesse to procure Beeler rehearsal room at IC for a rehearsal this afternoon, which took charm because the rooms are typically all booked up during summer camp season (and during the school year too) and because you typically need to be IC-affiliated to use rooms there at all.  Luckily, I am charming*.

Anyhow, it was great because we had nice wood floors and mirrors for dancing, a nice piano, chairs, a stand for the only other member of the pit able to make it… meaning we had 2/3 of the pit there…  As Kendra put it, we’re less of a pit than a small hole in the ground.  (Let’s make shirts!)

Hm.  Other things.  Non-music related things?

AP scores came today.  Fairly anti-climactic.

Williams housing assignments came out yesterday, but I could not for the life of me figure out where to find them, so I naturally headed to the Williams ’13 Facebook group for answers.  But the Williams ’13 Facebook group had turned into a VORTEX OF DOOM, which is so not what I signed up for.  Basically, any link I clicked on sent me to the Facebook home page.  Very frustrating.

Fortunately, today the problem was fixed, so I figured out how to find my room number and such.  They apparently couldn’t find anyone in the entire class that could live with me and not go batshit insane by the end of the year, so I’m in a single.  Understandable.

Just kidding.  They apparently have lots of singles available for upperclassmen and even first-years, so I’m in a single.  Understandable.

According to DIGITAL WINGMAN’S 3D FLOOR PLANS (there needs to be band called The Digital Wingmen), this is what my room looks like.
a102side
Luxurious. I’m excited.

*HAHAHAhahahahaha.  Cough.

10 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Ryan / Jul 15 2009 11:36 pm

    That is a nice dorm room. I am jealous.

  2. Amy / Jul 16 2009 12:56 am

    I look forward to taking up ALL that floor space when I come visit.

  3. Rafael Lizarralde / Jul 16 2009 9:46 am

    The Perl mascot is an onion, but it is not awesome.

    I agree, “Digital Wingmen” sounds pretty epic.

  4. Antal S-Z / Jul 16 2009 10:49 am

    Which entry (or room) are you in?

  5. April / Jul 16 2009 12:31 pm

    Raffi: I thought the Perl mascot was a llama… or was that just for that one book?

    Antal: Pratt 3! Woot!

    • Rafael Lizarralde / Jul 16 2009 1:09 pm

      Speaking of programming… I’m having a really tough time with (translation: I’m getting my ass kicked by) Project Euler problem 60. I’ve rewritten my code for it over 5 times now (as in, gave up on a previous effort and started over), and the lowest sum I can get is still 116501… Currently I’m using a method where I go through all the primes up to a million, break them up, see if the parts are prime, then throw them in a map with the smaller piece as the key and the larger piece in a list as the value. Then I look at each key-value pair and see if a value is in the keySet, and if so, compare the value sets of the two (to find shared elements), then I do the whole thing again on that set (except without breaking them up, instead taking two and seeing if they make primes…). I feel like there ought to be a simpler method that does not take eternity to run.

    • Rafael Lizarralde / Jul 16 2009 2:47 pm

      Actually, I just got it by brute-forcing the first part and restricting the range (that is, instead of breaking the primes up, I recursively checked it twice, but only within the range of 1 – 10,000). With that restriction, and with a slightly improved primeness checker, it completed in 13 seconds… I feel like there still ought to be a better method, though, the 1-10,000 restriction feels like a hack.

  6. Antal S-Z / Jul 16 2009 12:52 pm

    Perl’s semi-official mascot is the camel, because it was on the cover of one (or more?) seminal Perl books; however, it’s owned by the publishers of said book (O’Reilly [not Bill]). There is a yearly “State of the Onion” talk by the creator of Perl, and the onion as a logo is actually owned by Perl itself. (The camel is probably more recognizable, though.)

    And sweet, you’re two floors above where I lived last year! Mission is the way to go 🙂

  7. Brian Rider / Apr 21 2010 3:43 pm

    Glad to hear you like the name dw. Hope your enjoying your stay at williams.

    Brian
    Digital Wingman, Inc

    • April / Apr 21 2010 7:06 pm

      It is an excellent name. And thanks!

Leave a Reply

