Skip to content
29 April 2009 / April

In which a verbosity key gets stuck

So I’m in my room.  Not at a coffee shop.  Not at a library.  Not at school.  Not at my neighbor’s.  Not in a car parked in our driveway.  Not sitting on the porch.  Not standing near the front door trying not to get my computer wet from the pouring rain.  In my room.  Sitting on a chair.  At my desk.  In front of my computer.

A computer that MAGICALLY can access the internet.  Suddenly!  Without warning!  My dear MacBook you must WARN ME when you are about to suddenly load Facebook and show me how many little notifications I have!  You nearly made my little heart burst from sheer joy and amazement!

You know, I had plans for tonight.  You weren’t expecting that, were you?  I had elaborate, well-wrought plans involving exorbitant amounts of pianisticism and probably some homework-type stuff too, or whatever.  Nothing could stand in the way of my elaborate, well-wrought plans, for they were elaborate and well-wrought, like a cast-iron gate.  On wheels.  (… Because they need to be motile, you see, or else things standing in their way would not make much sense.)

Nothing, that is, besides a functional internet connection inside my own sweet home.

And now my cast-iron plans are a mangled wreck in a muddy ditch, as the sirens wail and curious bystanders stand by curiously.  Oh, my plans, my poor plans.  Let us eulogize.  Let us share a moment of silence for the piano that goes unpracticed and the reflections that go unwritten, the phone calls that go uncalled and the program segments that go uncoded.  Let us not temper our heartfelt eulogy with thoughts of two short free periods tomorrow morning, too short free periods to fulfill the empty promise of my cast-iron plans, or with sudden lethargy inspired by the time of year.  Let us cease speaking in the volitive subjunctive, for indeed it is an unnatural grammatical mood for such an occasion as this.

It’s hard to pinpoint exactly how long I spent without the internet at home, since in my case a lack of internet at home does not necessitate a lack of internet presence.  But if this is in fact from the first day I went without the internet at home, then it has been almost exactly a month.  It was a long, long month.

It was a month that encompassed my last college acceptance and my only rejection, Aida performances, a trio performance, a lot of cheesecake, becoming an adult, stupid birds, fitness testing in gym, spring break, visiting Smith and Amherst, finals, a couple random days of summer, and making a college decision.  Evidently, it was a month framed by college stuff.  But pervading its entirety was this obnoxious LACK OF INTERNET that didn’t make the month any shorter.

Anyway.  The title references this post, from the last time my internet started working again after a lengthy lapse.  That was a little less unexpected, because my neighbor had been working on it and then, logically, it started to work again.  This time, my neighbor had completely given up and then, illogically, it started to work again.  If I were spending more than like four more months at home, I would probably look into a more reliable way of getting the internet.  But my mom is basically never going to use the internet when I’m at college, so I’m thinking it’s not worth the effort.

Of course, not much is “worth the effort” for me these days.

It’s clearly your lucky day (yes, YOURS), because I’m in a blogging mood, except I just typed “glogging”… I think I’m in a glogging mood too.  According to Dictionary.com, glogg is “a hot wine punch containing brandy or aquavit and traditionally flavored with almonds, raisins, cloves, and cinnamon.”  Glog is not a word.  But it can be now, because it’s the 21st century, when everything‘s a word!  Let’s make this a reader exercise: If vlogging is video blogging, glogging is ____.

This is all very interesting, but do you know what’s even more interesting?  My day!  Yes!  It started with two full periods of Dante, except whether they were in fact “full periods” is debatable.  At any rate, it was a lot of Dante.  By the end of it I was feeling a little bored, so I wrote some math equations and felt happy again.  If you’re in period 3 Lit, you may be privileged to gaze upon my math equations tomorrow.  They are truly delightful and totally relevant to complex fraud.

Everything was closed 5th period.  This often seems to occur 5th period.  It’s quite annoying.  Naturally I ultimately ended up in the Tattler office, where there was no cake but plenty of company, which is good too albeit considerably less sugary.  I also talked to Jonathan about how we almost never see each other and how each time we do, we talk about how we almost never see each other.  Because we don’t.

Maddie wasn’t in school today, so I was the only one in my Latin class.  And the final is over, and I recently learned that the Latin AP does nothing for me at Williams (EDIT) I clearly fail at reading and probably don’t belong at Williams.  Ergo: I spent Latin class doing programming.

PE is SO MUCH MORE TOLERABLE when it’s NOT 100 degrees outside.  Today was more like 60, and sunny, and breezy.  Perfect track-walking weather.

Somehow PE was unusually hilarious today.  We made dandelion chains and tittered at romantic intrigue and got a totally awesome idea for the senior prank.  It sounds kind of middle school, now that I think about it.  Probably because the Boynton kids joined us on the track, including Josh’s tiny sister, who is actually tiny, unlike his little sister– who was also on the track.  They had sister bonding time, during which they discussed who they should beat up.  Yeah, that’s a cool family.

Anyway, 8th period I walked downtown with Josh himself and Raffi, which was also pretty hilarious but not unusually so.  We discussed a large number of things, including endomorphs and carcinogenic spit and the fires of stupidity.  I would describe these things in more detail if that didn’t involve providing a transcript of our entire conversation.  Also, describing them in more detail would not actually help you understand them, since to do that you would probably need to know a lot more about our brains than either you or us would feel comfortable about.  (You could probably wiki up endomorphs though.)

At the library foundation, Rachel and I had a mail-related adventure, which is not as exciting as a male-related adventure but PRETTY DAMN CLOSE.

Then I ate yogurt-covered pretzels, which are even better than I thought they would be, and went to church choir rehearsal, where my successor as pianist made me feel completely and unfathomably inadequate.  Besides being the best pianist I know, he’s also destined to lead the American math team to victory at the International Mathematical Olympiad– if not this year, then sometime in high school.  So he’s a little like me except exponentially better, which I’m totally okay with because I bet I write better blog entries.

Not this one.  This one is actually kind of like two blog posts glommed together into one, and is probably going to hit the interwebs in all its un-proofread glory.  This one sucks.  But I don’t think he blogs, so the point is moot anyway.

14 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Rafael Lizarralde / Apr 29 2009 11:04 pm

    Glogging, I think, will most likely come to mean geoblogging, that is, posting personal information with location-related information (I believe this is already being incorporated into some form of Twitter).

    Forest: what can you say? Where most people are trees, he is a forest.

    …that’s not as amusing as I thought it would be.

    • April / Apr 29 2009 11:15 pm

      Story of my life.
      I mean the last bit.

  2. JOsh / Apr 30 2009 5:51 pm
    • April / Apr 30 2009 6:54 pm

      That may in fact be the best thing I have ever read.

      • Rafael Lizarralde / Apr 30 2009 8:53 pm

        Did it have the crap page when you visited? I reverted it, because it shouldn’t be there.

        • April / Apr 30 2009 8:56 pm

          Why would you do that? The crap page was hilarious! And also the reason why people think you shouldn’t trust Wikipedia, but that’s secondary.

          • Rafael Lizarralde / Apr 30 2009 8:57 pm

            It’s true, but the crap page will live forever in the Wikipedia’s history. It was pretty good, but it belongs on the Uncyclopedia, not the Wikipedia. You can transfer it if you wish.

          • Rafael Lizarralde / Apr 30 2009 9:00 pm

            There, I transferred it myself.
            http://uncyclopedia.wikia.com/wiki/Glog

          • April / Apr 30 2009 9:04 pm

            I am eternally grateful.

  3. Kati / Apr 30 2009 7:56 pm

    Oh, come ON. Eulogize is less of a word than fluxuatory.

    • Rafael Lizarralde / Apr 30 2009 8:52 pm

      Eulogize is actually a word, it’s in the dictionary with its own definition.

      • Kati / May 5 2009 3:26 pm

        tech-ni-CALITY.

Trackbacks

  1. Internet? Zucchini? « Circadian Rhythms

Leave a Reply

