Skip to content
31 March 2009 / April

Brown

This could be a vastly huge post, but my internet at home isn’t working so I’m actually at my neighbor’s house.  And I probably shouldn’t stay here much longer than necessary.  So just a few things…

First: congrats to everyone who got into college today!  Everyone who’s gotten into college recently, actually!  I’ve been lax about my congratulatory obligations.  I apologize.

Second: I TOLD YOU SO.

Rejected from Harvard, despite what EVERYONE told me (except Raffi, I guess).  I feel incredibly vindicated.

Fortunately I had already pretty much eliminated Harvard from my options since I got my financial aid info from Williams, so this is not such a big deal for me.  I don’t care much about Harvard—and the feeling is mutual.

(Sorry Rachel.  OH PS. the Rachel Z. comparisons have to stop NOW.  Also I still want an Escher cake.  And I still sort of want to meet Steven Pinker.)

Third: I got into Brown!

Which makes The Impossible Decision much, much harder than if I’d gotten into Harvard.  It also made me really happy.  It still makes me really happy, actually.

Now I’ve finally heard from all my colleges.  There are six colleges I’m considering and I cannot imagine not attending any of them next year.

My conclusion: I am far more fortunate than I could possibly deserve.

But the MOST ASTONISHING NEWS, deserving the MOST ABUNDANT CAPITAL LETTERS, is yet to come.  Team Squirrelfish advanced on to the next level of the Moody competition.

My conclusion: US math education is far more fucked than I had ever realized.

My other conclusion: the judges were probably aiming for the recycling bin but accidentally tossed our paper on the wrong pile.  They’ll realize their error when people actually read it.

I’ve gotten into 7/8 colleges, our economic BS was apparently not as BS-y as some other people’s, I got a 9 on one of the essays on the Lit midterm, I possibly played more right notes than the other pianist at Aida rehearsal, I ate a full breakfast this morning.

My final conclusion: there’s something wrong with the world today.  Something along the lines of porcine aviators and such.

7 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Leticia / Mar 31 2009 10:47 pm

    You are incredibly fortunate, April.
    Just be happy as you are, that is all that matters.

    by the way, I am not being super creepy by following the links from my fb news feed to this…just letting you know.

  2. Rachel / Mar 31 2009 10:52 pm

    I’m sorry to hear that, although you seem not to be too disappointed, which is good. All I can say is that Harvard was stupid this year, and they’re missing out on some of the best of IHS. At any rate, if you still want to meet Steven Pinker, I think you should come stay here anyways and do that. 🙂 I went to his office hours today and had a great long conversation with him and I kept thinking “omg April would love to be here” and I got him to sign my books. It was amazing.

    Congrats on Brown, though! And on all your other wonderfully amazing schools. Now I don’t have to pressure you to come here, so I’m ok with whichever you pick :). Let me know what you decide! I’m really excited for you.

    (P.S. Are the Rachel Z. comparisons still going on?)

  3. Rachel / Mar 31 2009 11:02 pm

    By the way, my roommate has analyzed your situation closely and has determined that you should go to Williams or Amherst. See, decision-making all done, mostly. 🙂 That wasn’t so hard, right?

    In all seriousness though, she really does think so, if that matters to you at all. She’d probably talk to you and tell you why, if you’re interested.

  4. Rafael Lizarralde / Mar 31 2009 11:30 pm

    Mr. Drix announced that in our calc class… it was more embarrassing than anything else, even though everyone congratulated us. Let’s just hope they forget about it before they realize they didn’t get an announcement on how we didn’t get into the third round.

  5. Stacy / Mar 31 2009 11:33 pm

    Congrats on Brown and boo on Harvard, it’s their loss. ❤

  6. Hannah / Mar 31 2009 11:43 pm

    Congrats on Brown and all the others and uh… I’ll go along with the “aiming for the recycling bin” hypothesis.

  7. April / Apr 1 2009 9:02 am

    Thanks everyone!

    Rachel: I still get called Rachel occasionally, which is perhaps an inadvertent Rachel Z. comparison… And I’d totally go live secretly in a Harvard dorm so I can meet Steven Pinker.

    Actually, I would be interested to know why your roommate recommends Williams or Amherst, can you summarize her points in a comment/email/Facebook message/other form of online communication?

Leave a Reply

