Skip to content
22 March 2009 / April

Muffinfulness

Today I was downtown.  (Again.)  I was hungry, but not quite dinner-hungry, more like small delicious snack-hungry, so I walked into CTB planning to order a bagel with Nutella.

But then I saw muffins.

Beautiful, beautiful muffins, sitting on a tray in all their muffinly splendor.  My heart sang.  My mouth opened.  “Could I have a muffin?”  I asked breathlessly.  “A blueberry one, if you have it.”  They did.  Oh, they did.

Naturally, my mind turned to the day not long ago when I hunted muffins in the wilderness of the Commons and returned with nothing but a cookie, the day when I shied away from CTB for fear of what I may not find.

As time has passed, I have gradually convinced myself that truly, there had been no muffins at CTB that day– there could not have been muffins at CTB– convinced myself of this to such an extent that to even imagine muffins at CTB is so preposterous, it makes me want to laugh.  Part of me is not swayed by the rather concrete evidence I consumed earlier, and continues to insist that while there may have been muffins at CTB today, that does not at all mean there were muffins at CTB a month ago.

The other part of me is amazed at what a fool I am sometimes.

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Rafael Lizarralde / Mar 22 2009 10:43 pm

    The existence of muffins is highly erratic, and one should always assume an absence.

  2. Amy / Mar 22 2009 11:43 pm

    The thought of erratically existing muffins makes me chuckle, as I imagine muffins suddenly appearing in random places at random times… and then, as April lunges toward them, disappearing just as suddenly.

    But bagels with Nutella are also good!

    • April / Mar 23 2009 9:25 am

      It sounds like a video game. (It probably already is…)

      • Rafael Lizarralde / Mar 23 2009 5:29 pm

        Muffin Snatcher: the Epic Adventure!

Leave a Reply

