Skip to content
12 March 2009 / April

Arts and crafts

It’s all relative.  For instance, if I told you that I played piano twice today, that would not make today Piano Day for April because that’s a pretty common phenomenon.  But if I told you that I did arts and crafts twice today, that does make today Arts and Crafts Day for April.

In Latin we did something completely un-Latin-like: we made posters.  About, um, the Ides of March, and whatever else we could possibly connect to it.  In any other class (coughGOVERNMENTcough) this would have pissed me off to no end because I actually hate poster projects.  But perhaps because Ms. N made no pretenses that this was in any way productive or useful or educational– or perhaps just because I was making a poster with Maddie– it was really fun.

We brainstormed a few ideas to start with, but I think our best concept was something like this:

Caesar

Which is hilarious if you’re us.  By the way, that’s Caesar, in case the resemblance was less than obvious.

Then, at the library foundation, my task today was to do a whole lot of “origami,” which really tested my limits of how long I could spend folding paper before going legitimately insane (versus illegitimately insane, which I already am).  This turns out to be about an hour and a half.

And now for something non-arts and crafts related: I seem to be sick.  My mom is convinced being cooped up with four people and their germs on Sunday is what did it.  But what she doesn’t know is that some of that time was spent running around in the rain without a coat.  Perhaps I would have been wise to throw an AprilIsLameAndActuallyWearsARaincoatException…

One of my mom’s favorite hobbies when I’m sick is to quiz me on my symptoms, like so:

Mom: “Do you have a sore throat?”
Me: “No, that was yesterday. Right now I have a bit of a cough, a really runny nose, clogged ears, and a ridiculously bad headache.”
Mom: “… I have a cookie.”
Me: “Fine, you win.”

Except then she gave me the cookie.  Because she’s my mom.

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Rafael Lizarralde / Mar 12 2009 9:44 pm

    I believe we did tell her about running around in the rain.

    Cookies are great. 🙂

    • April / Mar 12 2009 9:53 pm

      Oh, I think you’re right. At any rate, I don’t think anything on Sunday got me sick.

  2. Rafael Lizarralde / Mar 12 2009 10:14 pm

    Perhaps not coincidentally, though, I’m sick now, too.

Leave a Reply

