Skip to content
17 February 2009 / April

A late lunch

My writing has been much too coherent lately.  Let’s amend that.

Because it’s break!  Break is when I wear blue hats…

Photo 116

… and decide that tea looks pretty…

DSCN5309

… and realize that we have a squash in our kitchen.  That’s cool, I guess.

It’s also when I realize that I have bitten off much more than my mouth can masticate, with respect to Aida.  Did you know?  Musicals are longer than concertos!  So much longer.  You can’t sit down at 11:30 and “run through” a musical before lunch.  In related news: I am hungry.

Also, I have the sneaking suspicion that I am not going to enjoy playing keyboard that much.  I don’t get to play any pretty melodies!  Sob!  It’s all chords and syncopated rhythms and counting– oh, how I loathe counting– and sound effects, good god the sound effects!  What does a reverse car door slam sound like anyway?  Is it different from opening a car door with great vehemence?  Come to Aida and find out!

I also get helpful notes in the score like “just the icing on the cake”– which is amusing, but could you translate that into Italian please, I don’t quite get it.

(According to Google Translate, that would be “solo la ciliegina sulla torta,” but don’t trust that too much.)

I don’t even know how I got involved with the musical.  As you can probably tell, I’m not at all the right person for it.

Fortunately, I’m also in the midst of Dumky trio rehearsals, which is ensemble playing the way I’m used to it.  Fortunately too, I’m playing a Bach suite.  Can you believe I was even considering having a senior recital without any Bach?  I’m pretty damn stupid sometimes.

And now, to elegantly conclude: lunch time!

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Kati / Feb 17 2009 4:27 pm

    THAT MEANS YOU’RE DOING PIT?!?

    zoooooomg happy dance

  2. April / Feb 17 2009 4:54 pm

    Yes. Regretting decision in 5, 4, 3, 2, 1….

    … Just kidding, I’m sure it’ll be a blast (off).

Leave a Reply

