Skip to content
3 February 2009 / April

I’m skipping school tomorrow

… For the NACLO!

NACLO, of fishy fame, which made me jump for joy, which was like a fifth degree polynomial in terms of solvability, which didn’t send me to Bulgaria, which makes me realize I should probably turn off internal pingbacks on this blog because the link incest is getting a little out of hand.

NACLO, which takes place, conveniently enough, during the only periods when I have classes.  Score.  Besides, lying fishermen aside, this is computational linguistics we’re dealing with here, and two-thirds of the classes I’m missing consist of Comp Sci and Latin.  It like doesn’t even count as missing class.

(… What the fuck, since when do I only have three classes?  Cornell, I hate you.)

NACLO, which leads to painfully hilarious conversations in the Tattler office 8th period.

Painful only because I haven’t quite killed this cold yet, and my throat was not quite up to the challenge of, um, loud voices.  We’ve decided there’s a reason that this is not a team test.  Studying these obscure languages in the privacy of your own mind is serious and intellectual, but intense discussions between highly intelligent people consisting of words like challwallampiwa are– well, painfully hilarious. Painful hilarity: not a productive state in which to take a test.

I could never do such a conversation justice in writing, but Eva got a recording of some of it, which we shall most certainly use to blackmail Josh and Raffi when they run for public office or something.  It won’t really be necessary though, because who would ever elect either of them anyway?

(I kid!  Probably!)

Anyway, NACLO isn’t something you can really study for, but I haven’t done one of these sorts of problems since last March.  Thus my plans for tomorrow morning, involving vast quantities of coffee and moderate quantities of linguistics in Duffield Hall.  I’m so pumped.

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Rafael Lizarralde / Feb 4 2009 4:36 pm

    Thanks for the vote of confidence… but yeah, really I don’t think I could survive the sheer magnitude of stupidity that is thrown at you as a politician.

  2. April / Feb 4 2009 5:15 pm

    And I don’t think your constituents would be able to handle the sheer magnitude of smartz presented to them.

  3. Rafael Lizarralde / Feb 4 2009 7:24 pm

    xD thanks

Trackbacks

  1. At least I had my chapstick « Circadian Rhythms

Leave a Reply

