Skip to content
19 January 2009 / April

Some inequalities

Okay, so I’ve only been to one lecture and one section of multivariable calculus.  But I already feel certain of a few things.  Namely:

Multivariable’s instructor > Linear’s instructor

Multivariable’s TA >> Linear’s TA (like WHOA is he greater)

Willingness to attend multivariable on a no-high-school day > willingness to attend linear on a no-high-school day

Multivariable calculus > Linear algebra

Which translates to, in course numbers,

2220 > 2210

which is not a surprise to anyone, I trust.

A few other items of note:

– Neither the professor nor the TA are awkward European males.  What is this.

– Linear algebra had about 20 kids and was in a huge lecture hall.  Multivariable has about 30 kids and is in a little classroom.  What is this.

– (Actually, about a quarter of them aren’t going to keep coming to class, so…)

– I considered literally sneaking into lectures/sections since I can’t afford to even audit the class, but I thought I’d take the high road and at least tell them what I was up to.  Sometimes taking the high road pays off.

The conversation with the prof went something like this.

Me: “Hi, so I’m a high school student who hasn’t registered for the course, and I was hoping I could still attend classes…”
Prof: “Sure, that’s fine.  … So, you haven’t registered for the class, but will you register?”
Me: Damn mathematicians and their attention to detail. “Well, I’m not doing it for credit, so I was hoping I wouldn’t have to.”
Prof: “…”
Me: “…”
Prof: “Well.  I’m okay with that.”

The conversation with the TA went something like this.

Me: “Hi, so I’m a high school student who hasn’t registered for the course, and I was hoping I could still attend classes.  And I’ve talked to the professor and he’s okay with it.”
TA: “I have no problem with that.”
Me: “Alright, just wanted to let you know– in case you had to take attendance or something and was wondering who the random other girl was.”
TA: “Don’t worry, the last class was full of random people.  I guess they just gravitate towards me.  All the weirdos do.”
Me: “… Okay, awesome.”

– The grading policy is basically everything I wanted linear algebra’s grading policy to be.  Homework graded on effort instead of right answers.  And TEST CORRECTIONS.

– And section is basically everything I wanted linear algebra’s section to be.  We got into groups, briefly introduced ourselves (names! I may learn some!), and worked on problems.  Score.

– Related: I need to review calculus, badly.  There was a scary moment when I couldn’t remember what the derivative of tan(x) was.

Now comes the time when I stop enthusing about my mathematical education and begin complaining about CATS.

Because between lecture and section, I went to babysit my neighbor’s kids.  There were a couple blissful hours when they were happily engaged by themselves and I thought I could perhaps get some homework done.

No dice.

No sooner had I settled myself at a table and pulled out my Aeneid when their CAT decided, first, that my pencil was alive and had to be immediately attacked, and second, that my translation made an ideal surface upon which to lounge in a typical CATish manner.  I tried to gently push her off, but she is a very fat CAT.  Also she started clawing at my papers, and I panicked because I did NOT want her to shred my translation.

And this is why I did not get much Latin done today.

DSCN5248

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Kati / Jan 19 2009 7:42 pm

    (like WHOA is he greater)


    y’know, I have a feeling the “conversation” between you and the TA regarding paying for the class went somewhat differently…

  2. Rafael Lizarralde / Jan 19 2009 7:46 pm

    “TA: “Don’t worry, the last class was full of random people. I guess they just gravitate towards me. All the weirdos do.”
    Me: “… Okay, awesome.””
    That made me laugh so hard… 🙂

    As for “CATS”, you should be careful about capitalizing it entirely, because at first I thought it was a reference to Zero Wing (“All your base are belong to us. You have no chance to survive make your time.”). x_x

  3. April / Jan 19 2009 8:13 pm

    Kati: I wish. … I mean, what? What are you talking about?

    Raffi: Only you, I’m sure. I actually considered switching it to CATs, but that would have ruined the spontaneity that was the only reason why I left it in the first place.

Leave a Reply

