Skip to content
8 January 2009 / April

THE BITTERNESS, IT BURNS

Without getting too deep here: you know how sugar is kinda the embodiment of sweetness and salt is kinda the embodiment of, uh, saltiness?  Yeah you do.  Just go along with me here.

Because whatever Chinese black magic my mom just forced down my throat was definitely the embodiment of bitterness.

Sure, my mom warned me it would be bitter.  So I approached it with the caution of one who has experienced bitter medicines before, one whose mother works at a Chinese medicine company.  “Can I have something to chase it down*?”  She brought in a cup of water.  “What?  Water has no taste!  You can’t chase it down with something that has no taste!”

“Oh, after that medicine, it will have a taste.”  I hesitated still, so she reassured me.  “Well, if you drink it, you can tell all your friends what a bitter thing you drank.”  She knows me well.

I gave the dark liquid a minute to cool, then I took it down in one swallow, because that’s the best way to take your medicine.  I nearly died.  This was not bitterness.  This was to bitterness what getting caught in a rainstorm is to Paradise.  This was a whole second level of flavor that transcends what our puny human minds can comprehend, let alone what the English language can articulate.  It caused actual physical pain.  I chased it down with the water, which was the sweetest, most wonderful thing I have ever tasted.

Then I had some chocolate.

Dear god, if this stuff doesn’t cure my toothache, heads will roll.  Actually, forget the toothache (admittedly a very bad and long-lasting toothache).  I’d better become freaking invincible.

In other news: I use the phrase “in other news” far too often for it not to have an acronym.

So, ION: we had a most delightfully kickass guest speaker in Government.  She was a police officer who was refreshingly funny and not so serious about her admittedly rather serious job.  Don’t get me wrong, she takes crime and following the law seriously, but she also acknowledges that chasing (and catching!) people on her bike is simply awesome.

She also complained about morons who call the police for the most idiotic reasons.  I mean, a light bulb going out?  Come on.

Then in Latin, Maddie and I played Rhetorical Devices Poker.  Okay, it wasn’t poker at all, but it involved cards, so who cares?  We were having by far the most fun of the three groups (well, we always do), and it was really helpful too.  Like I totally know what tricolon crescens is now.  Bonus points to anyone who can find where I used it in this post.

* Dude, is this actually a phrase or did I just make it up?  I’m not having good luck with Google searches, which is making me nervous.  Also, the more I look at the word “chase,” the more it seems like it’s not even a word, which is making me even more nervous.

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Mark / Jan 15 2009 8:32 am

    This post remembered me of my childhood . I was very fond of chocolates , which resulted in tooth decay & severe toothache . My mom gave be all sorts of bitter medicines, which i hated.
    Those medicines gave me nightmares !

    But the positive side was that ,my toothache vanished with it .
    ” no pain no gain “

  2. April / Jan 15 2009 7:08 pm

    I’m glad it turned out well in the end; my own toothache was not helped by the medicine…

Trackbacks

  1. Stuff and things and acronyms « Circadian Rhythms

Leave a Reply

