Skip to content
3 January 2009 / April

Bunnies and boxes

DSCN5213

“Is that a bunny butt?”

We had just come home from what was for mom and Amy yet another shopping outing, and for me a bunch of accompanying rehearsals.  Oh, and we also had breakfast at CTB (Nutella!), and though I requested a small coffee I ended up getting a full mugful, which must’ve been like 20 oz. or something.  I’m still working on it.  I’m a little caffeine high, and by a little I mean a lot.  Wheeee!

Anyway, I wandered into the dining room to peruse the loot and was surprised to see a small box with, yes, a bunny butt on its side.  Curious, I checked out the front.

DSCN5212

Oh my god.  The pasta is shaped as peace signs.  The box is tie-dye.  The cheese is real. This is better than hempzels.  I am speechless in awe.

In other bunny- and box-related news: last night, while Amy was learning to play Tetris on my iPod Touch (with sound effects associated with frustration), I went searching for an old childhood friend, who was in a cardboard box on the top shelf of the closet in the upstairs bedroom.

Incidentally, I had to use a flashlight for this quest, because the light in said bedroom doesn’t work.  Normally this wouldn’t be a problem, what with ambient light and the sense of touch and such, but this bedroom also has a detached closet door leaning at the top of the stairs that you have to step over, which is a little perilous even in the light.  As for why we have a detached closet door leaning at the top of the stairs, well, it’s basically the same reason we have a hammer and saw lying on our sofa.  Obviously.

Anyway, I should probably show you my friend, because he’s adorable…

DSCN5216

… But what I’m really getting at is my realization at the end of the search, when I was closing the box and suddenly thought that closing a cardboard box should be impossible.

I’m talking about those boxes with the four flaps, which you close by going around and putting one flap down at a time, each on top of the last… until you get to the final flap.  Which is the topmost and the bottommost flap.

What?  Why aren’t more people amazed at this?

Of course it’s possible, because cardboard bends.  Of course you all think I’m a raving lunatic.  But if you think about it, it’s so damn weird.  Like an Escherian paradox.  It’s like airplanes.  Airplanes are possible, and we fly in them all the time, but they shouldn’t be possible, because they’re just massive hunks of metal soaring through thin air.  That’s incredible.  It’s almost as incredible as being able to close a cardboard box.

How does anyone ever get bored of life?

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Amy / Jan 3 2009 3:37 pm

    Actually, you can get Annie’s Peace Pasta and Parmesan pretty much anywhere, including in Cleveland. I got it here because the price here was a little lower.

  2. April / Jan 3 2009 4:14 pm

    Nooooo it can’t be! D:

  3. Amy / Jan 3 2009 8:21 pm

    Also, did you purposefully mix up your vowels in “tie-dye”? Or did you not realize that the term comes from the process: you tie it, then you dye it? That there is no death involved?

  4. April / Jan 3 2009 8:51 pm

    Uh, I don’t know what you’re talking about. (In other words: no, no, yes.)

Leave a Reply

