Skip to content
31 December 2008 / April

Satan, oscillate my metallic sonatas

I celebrated New Year’s Eve mostly by not doing things.

For instance, I didn’t change out of my pajamas or leave the house, mostly because, according to reliable sources, it was fucking freezing outside.

Also I didn’t practice any piano or do any college stuff.  Wait, isn’t that stuff due tomorrow anyway? you ask.  Well, most of it, and most of it’s been done, but I still have to write one essay for Amherst because apparently three’s not enough, and their deadline was pushed back to the 15th.  So I can procrastinate a little longer on that.

But being done with all my Common App stuff is a nice feeling, I must admit.

What I didn’t not do was homework, for the, uh, second time all break.  I translated 70 lines of the Aeneid while listening to Brahms chamber music.  It was intense and taxing and tragic (his wife died!  Waa!), but finishing Book II was another nice feeling.

I didn’t write a book review for The Mother Tongue, which I might still do later but I’m sort of sick of reviewing every single book I read.  Just imagine The Stuff of Thought, but with less of your intellect involved as you read it.  More lists of random fascinating factoids (quote: “I could go on and on.  In fact, I think I will.”), less actual explanation and analysis.  This may or may not float your boat.  It’s a good read for a vacation.

The title of this post is quoted from it too.  I’m going to try to work that palindrome into conversations.

Well, my last post of ’08 is going to be utterly lame, I see.  Unless I make a last-ditch attempt at redeeming it by telling you a little part of my dream last night.  Raffi and I were sitting on the bus, and he was telling me about the alphabet he made up.  The best part, he told me, was that in this alphabet, my initials would be “A”… and a mushroom.

Needless to say, I found this utterly hilarious.  When I was through laughing, I commented that “mushroom” may be the funniest word ever, besides “muffin”.  He seemed skeptical.

In waking, I’m also a little skeptical, because while “mushroom” is amusing, I would not allow it nearly the degree of hilarity associated with “muffin.”  Muffin simply takes the cake, as it were.

At any rate, I hope your New Year’s Eve was and is much more exciting than mine has been, especially since it’s going to be a second longer than usual.  As for the new year… 2009 promises to be the pivotal year of my life thus far.  (Don’t they all.)  Which is thrilling and a little scary, but I guess I’d better get used to it.

Happy new year.

7 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Rafael Lizarralde / Dec 31 2008 6:48 pm

    Mushroom is totally a better word than “muffin”. AND it literally takes the cake (considering I had a log cake for Christmas and it had meringue mushrooms).

    Anyway, despite the character-warping properties of dreams, that actually sounds a lot like me… I’ve made some feeble attempts to phoneticize English, but it’s a surprisingly difficult task.

  2. April / Dec 31 2008 9:05 pm

    If you ever do, you must use a little mushroom symbol for the “sh” sound. Also I must respectfully disagree about muffin vs. mushroom. Muffins totally take the cake, which is why we have cupcakes.

  3. Sarah / Jan 1 2009 2:24 pm

    Muffroom

    Mushin

    (Explanation: My curiousity prompted me to see if combining mushroom and muffin would solve the issue. The jury is still out on the results.)

    Happy New Year!

  4. April / Jan 1 2009 2:50 pm

    It definitely has to do with the double f, because I find muffroom more amusing than mushin, though neither is as amusing as muffin. Both are good candidates for a compromise…

  5. Kati / Jan 1 2009 9:53 pm

    Omfgles. Fucking freezing is right.
    Anyhoo.
    I need to get rec letters and fee waivers in. And mail my letter to my family in Germany.

    This response has been pretty pointless so far. Quite so, quite so.

  6. April / Jan 1 2009 10:22 pm

    Stupid fee waivers, I don’t even know if half my colleges even accept the one I sent them…

Trackbacks

  1. What is the tip of the iceberg? « Circadian Rhythms

Leave a Reply

