Skip to content
2 December 2008 / April

My finger is weird

It’s a scary kind of weird.  Because it doesn’t hurt.  But it’s… weird.  Stiff, maybe, I would describe it.  Playing Prokofiev and suddenly stiff and very inconvenient.  It’s my right ring finger.

So this isn’t going to be long.  Typing is a lot like playing Prokofiev, but along more dimensions.

I didn’t get the QuestBridge scholarship.  I found out while walking to gym class and checking my e-mail on my cell phone.  Not how I envisioned finding out, but life is funny like that.

For all of you feeling very sorry for me and preparing to bake me cookies of sympathy, here are a few things.

1. I love you.

2. I’m honestly not disappointed.  Contrary to what my last post (concocted in the throes of emotion) may have implied, this is not the hugest thing in the world, or even one of the huger things in my own very small world.  This wasn’t about getting into college.  This was about going to college for free.  These are two distinct things.

3. This means I might still visit Rachel and Steven Pinker at Harvard.  And that is merely one of several good sides to this situation.  Like maybe I won’t have to explain QuestBridge to every freaking person on Earth anymore.

4. … I would still love to have those cookies though.

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Rachel / Dec 2 2008 11:19 pm

    I’m sorry. But yay! Come visit me and Steven Pinker! Also, you should know that Harvard has AMAZING financial aid. I know a bunch of people who are here for free, and basically everyone I’ve talked to said that the financial aid here was much better than the aid at any other school they applied to. In other words, you should come to Harvard.

  2. April / Dec 2 2008 11:38 pm

    But we are forgetting that I have to GET INTO HARVARD first…

  3. Rachel / Dec 3 2008 12:20 am

    Actually, I heard of someone who just came and lived in a dorm and went to classes and stuff without actually getting in. It took about two months before anyone figured out what was going on.

  4. April / Dec 3 2008 8:52 am

    … I really want you to be kidding, and yet I don’t at the same time.

  5. Rachel / Dec 3 2008 12:53 pm

    Unless the person who told me this was kidding, I’m not kidding. Apparently she just told the roommates that there had been an administrative mistake and that’s why they didn’t know about her, and she just moved in. And some of the classes are big enough that no one would ever notice…

Leave a Reply

