Skip to content
10 November 2008 / April

My life is a movie

Today was quintessential logistic growth.  (Confused?  Well, stop that!)

It started with me being ridiculously tired and drinking not one but two cups of coffee– and spilling some on myself– and having a terrible time even remembering what a vector was, let alone an eigen one.

I walked down Gun Hill in the snow.

All my other classes were fairly okay, but I was so out of it that none of it really registered, nothing really registered, not until I had walked to the library and found I had received a very very very interesting e-mail.  Which woke me right up (x=0), and I remained in a state of moderately heightened yet still skeptical excitement all while stuffing envelopes (including one to my beloved CS teacher) and taking the bus home.

What was this e-mail?  I can’t tell you!  That might jinx it!  Good Lord, what if I’ve already said too much– what if I’ve already jinxed it?  What do I do?  In the best case scenerio, I have an absolutely horrible, stressful week.  In the worst case scenerio, I have an absolutely horrible REST OF MY LIFE.

!!!

Don’t you love blogs?  How real they are?  RIGHT THERE, right after that paragraph, right after typing those words, the phone rang.  It’s QuestBridge.  It’s QuestBridge telling me about the e-mail I was too scared to tell you about above.  The e-mail from Williams saying, in effect, “Hey, um, person?  We totally need your financial aid documentation, like, now,” to which I just sent a reply saying, in effect, “Um, WTF?”, and the QB caller is also saying, in effect, “Hey, um, person?  Williams totally needs your–” and then I’m like “OMG you never told me I was a finalist!” and then she’s like “Gee, our bad.”

And now I’m like GAH I HAVE SO MUCH SUPPLEMENTARY STUFF TO DO NOW AND MORE ESSAYS TO WRITE AND LOTS OF THINGS I NEED THE HIGH SCHOOL TO FAX AND POSSIBLY CORNELL TOO AND THE DEADLINE FOR ALL THIS WAS LIKE A WEEK AGO AND GOOD THING I DIDN’T START ON THE COMMON APP YET AND WHY DIDN’T I BELIEVE ALL MY AWESOMELY INDIGNANT FRIENDS AND WHY DIDN’T QUESTBRIDGE SEND ME AN E-MAIL AND WHY DIDN’T I ASK WHY THEY DIDN’T SEND ME AN E-MAIL* AND I COULD TOTALLY GO TO THE COLLEGE OF MY CHOICE WITHOUT SPENDING A DIME AND I’M SO FREAKING OUT AND I HATE QUESTBRIDGE AND I LOVE QUESTBRIDGE AND IF ANY COLLEGE FINDS THIS BLOG WITH ME WRITING LIKE THIS I AM GOING TO BE REJECTED SO BAD LIKE WHOA.

(Er, Eva?  No way in hell I’m getting that book review done this week.  Sorry.)

Seriously though, isn’t that straight out of the movies?  I was just having the most depressing day in recent memory, and on this day of all days, I get this news of all news.

So ANYWAY.  Where was I?  The bus?

I walked home from the bus stop, and it was so bright and so cold that the nearly full moon had a halo around it, a pinkish ring with blue interior and just the faintest tint of green, and I stared at it so long and so hard that the tears stood in my eyes and I started wandering into the middle of the road.

I arrived home and ate and sighed a little.  And my day very soon became very exponential.

* I actually think my reason for not asking was a very logical one, but I’m sure the rest of the world would disagree, especially considering recent developments.  QB specifically stated that finalists would be notified of their status by e-mail on October 24.  Obviously, if you don’t get an e-mail on October 24– and if you think it’s highly unlikely that you’re a finalist– you’re not a finalist.  Right?  Right?

Apparently not.

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Rachel / Nov 10 2008 8:12 pm

    Congratulations! Sorry about all the stress though….

  2. April / Nov 10 2008 8:37 pm

    Thank you! 🙂

  3. Mimzy / Nov 11 2008 9:22 pm

    So lucky! I can never get stuff like Questbridge, because I’m in that annoyingly high income bracket that’s much too low to actually AFFORD college…

  4. April / Nov 11 2008 9:51 pm

    I know what you mean… I feel like unless you’re bizarrely wealthy, going to a good college is going to be nearly unattainably pricey. Here’s to decent financial aid!

  5. sru / Nov 23 2008 4:16 pm

    Wow, your life does seem like a movie! congrats! Im a HS soph and god, it would be cool to not pay a dime for college. Good luck = )

  6. April / Nov 23 2008 4:41 pm

    I definitely recommend looking into QuestBridge then; sure it’s stressful, but what college app isn’t? And thank you!

Leave a Reply

