Skip to content
24 October 2008 / April

More than mediocre

This was one of those days that overall is merely mediocre, but is redeemed thanks to one event early in the day that makes me laugh every time I think of it.

Today the event happened in math, where we started Section 5.5: Inner Product Spaces.  “An inner product space,” our instructor informed us thoughtfully, “is a space that has an inner product.”

I laughed.  “All right, that’s it– on to 5.6.”

Other people laughed.  The instructor said, “Okay, first I will tell you what an inner product is.  Then we’ll move on to 5.6.”

Linear Algebra was generally amusing today, actually, what with discussion of bribing teachers and factionalizing over which of two procedures was better.  But that was the event that made my entire day awesome.

In fact, I have such an awesome impression of my day that I was trying to come up with more awesome happenings that I could list here and couldn’t; that’s seriously the only one of any significance.

The only other important factor was the gloriously sunny weather (which has now abandoned us…).  Wednesday was rainy and I was miserable, today was sunny and I was much happier.  Maybe that had more to do with my good mood than some silly math class episode.

By the way, today in AP Lit we were reading collage poetry and I remembered my status poetry from– wow– 10 months ago.

Also there are a couple people– adults– sitting in CTB (where I am) playing Operation.  It’s quite annoying.

Also I will be learning something rather important, rather soon.

EDIT (10 PM): Regular decision, here I come!

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Kati / Oct 25 2008 7:53 pm

    WHAT?! How the fuck are you not a finalist??

  2. April / Oct 25 2008 7:59 pm

    For a large number of reasons; I am not so egotistical as to suppose there aren’t lots of students better than I in the nation. Also my essays were pretty terrible.

Leave a Reply

