Skip to content
13 September 2008 / April

Look, it’s a book brain!

(Uh, I need to produce a book review that doesn’t make me sound like even more of a nerd than my last one did.  Uh.)

Today was boring.  Well, I kind of lost my job at Brötchen, but I’m not quite disappointed and not at all surprised.  I completely understand why it had to be done, and all in all I’m glad I have the experience– so when I go job-hunting in the future, I will at least know how to use a cash register.  Also it helped out during the traditionally slow blogging months of summer, providing fodder for probably the most popular post I’ve written (which isn’t saying a lot).

But let’s talk about yesterday.

Yesterday started with me getting my coffee before math class, which was a lot more helpful for understanding the lecture than it was when I got it after math class on Wednesday.  Also Mandibles (my café of choice at Cornell) is much, much less crowded before 9 than it is after 10.  My main point, though, is that I might become coffee-dependent this year thanks to math class.  You know the Erdös quote, “A mathematician is a machine for turning coffee into theorems”?  It’s not the same thing, but it’s related.

In AP Lit we had bonding time.  Except apparently Ms. L’s idea of “bonding time” is making everything REALLY AWKWARD between everyone, with the aid of this poem and lots of eye contact.  This is why we have more fun than kids in Lang: hilariously forced compliments.

Comp Sci was business as usual.

Jenny, with heart-breaking distress: “My backpack smells like chicken sandwich!”

Me, sympathetically: “I’m sorry.”

Jenny, angrily: “Yeah April– it’s all your fault!”

Me, reasonably: “I can try to undo it, but usually the spell only works one way.”

Government was also business as usual, except with less saccharine optimism because we had a substitute.

Latin was Maddie.  No further explanation necessary.  If you know Maddie.  Which you should, if you don’t, because a life without Maddie must be a dreary state of existence indeed.  Unless you’re a creepy stalker-type person, in which case you should stop reading.

Between 7th and 8th periods, I and about 14 others got called to the main office.  I was utterly befuddled.  Other people were a bit more “with it” than I was.  “We think it’s National Merit,” Chloe suggested.

So.  Yay for being a National Merit Semi-Finalist and getting chocolate from the principal and ANOTHER ESSAY TO WRITE.  It’s really difficult for me to recycle old ones because I’m too verbose for stingy 500-word limits (exhibit A: this blog).  So that’s my Sunday afternoon, right there.

After school it was raining.  I was ultimately headed downtown and then to IC, but I was in no particular hurry so I thought I’d chill at school until the precipitation subsided somewhat.  Then enough random awesome people persuaded me to stay for the Tattler editors’ meeting, despite me not being an editor.  There I learned all of the Tattler’s deepest and darkest secrets, which I am not permitted to divulge.

By the end of it, it was still raining, but we decided to make our peace with dampness and walk downtown anyway, “we” being Maddie, Rafi (two fs or one?), and myself.  It was fairly hilarious, but I think the best part was finding a brain in the middle of the road.

Eventually we ended up in front of the (sadly closed) library, without Maddie but with Sana and Scott, talking about college and life’s ambitions and engineering– you know, typical conversation topics.

Eventually eventually I ended up, inevitably, in Autumn Leaves, eating a sandwich and free chocolate.

Eventually eventually eventually I ended up at IC, at a concert featuring Stewart Goodyear.  Skip this next bit if you’re not interested in music.  Because that was a hell of a concert.

Clearly Goodyear’s specialty is super fast, super precise, super impressive, superhuman passage work.  But I was also impressed by the utterly entrancing musical touches he employed– nothing excessive, but everything there.  I had to literally remind myself to breathe during Ravel’s Gaspard de la nuit.  And I adore the way he ended Barber’s Excursions: the final flourish was so much an afterthought, he actually played it while getting up from the bench.  It worked perfectly.

Then he played two encores, to our collective delight.  The second was some nice Gershwin, but the first was the single most inspired choice for an encore I’ve ever encountered: a ridiculously virtuoustic arrangement of the Blue Danube that he played not only with characteristic impeccible precision, but also with great personality, charming the entire audience and not even making me think of German dative prepositions.  (And it takes a powerful performance of the Blue Danube for that to happen, after suffering through two years of German class with Mary.)

On the way home afterwards, I ate coconut mooncake.  And that was my day.  Aren’t you glad I decided to write about yesterday instead of today?

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Kati / Sep 22 2008 12:44 pm

    ZOMG I loved that bonding time assignment. SOOO awkward. I turned to the guy next to me and tried to make everything as awkward as humanly possible, which was not difficult seeing as I hardly knew him. It was lovely.
    (though i do really like the poem)

    …wait a second…
    there are COCONUT mooncakes?!?
    holy jeebus. that’s reason enough to pretend to be asian. maybe i should return to my middle-school ways.

    ….alright, maybe not…

  2. Laura / Oct 12 2008 4:24 pm

    “And it takes a powerful performance of the Blue Danube for that to happen, after suffering through two years of German class with Mary.” hahahahahahaa… 😀

Trackbacks

  1. WAIT WHAT « Circadian Rhythms
  2. Muffinlessness « Circadian Rhythms
  3. If you have a cheesecake… « Circadian Rhythms

Leave a Reply

