Skip to content
2 September 2008 / April

Not another book review

So I finished Augusten Burroughs’ Running With Scissors today.  And since the ever eminent Tattler has recruited me to be a book review columnist person type thing for the coming school year (yes, that is my official title), I was planning on reviewing every book I read so that by the time the monthly deadline rolls around, I can just pick one, polish it up, and send it off to be printed.

But Running was a surprisingly quick read, the result being a lack of entries between me finishing my last book and me finishing this one.  (My sentence structures seem unusually terrible today.  Sorry.)  And it’s silly to have two book reviews in a row, unless you’re a book blogger, which I am not.

Ergo, a bite-sized review, assuming you have a fairly big mouth.  All the critics have invariably called it two things: hilarious and disturbing.  I definitely got the disturbing part; I was going to quote the most disgusting line in the book, but 1) there are too many, and 2) I don’t even want to think about what kinds of Google searches I would get.  However, clearly my sense of humor leaves something to be desired, as I didn’t find it funny in the least.  It was very, er, interesting though.

Let’s see, what else have I been up to.  Linear algebra yesterday was uneventful, except when the professor mentioned four-dimensional space and basically everyone cracked up, and I had no idea what was so funny.  I guess my sense of humor leaves something to be desired.

Then I walked home.  It was nice.  The skies looked like this.

DSCN5094

Other things I have done recently: finished the final touches on my AP Lit essays (at last!); made sure I still remembered the combination to my gym lock (Hey, I didn’t lose mine last year!  That must be a first!); played lots of Solitaire on my iPod (Fun activity: how many better ways of spending my time can you think of in 30 seconds?); ate homemade sushi; considered writing a contemplative entry on the imminent beginning of my senior year; decided against it.

Wow, I don’t think I’ve ever used the words “eminent” and “imminent” in the same entry before.

Leave a Reply

