Skip to content
7 August 2008 / April

Don’t we all.

We are on a walk.  I take off my watch.

Amy asks, “Why did you take off your watch?”

I reply with sudden viciousness, “So I can hit you with it!” and spin around holding the watch threateningly towards her face.  She cringes and shields her face with her hands.

Satisfied, I turn and continue walking.

“Why did you take off your watch?”

“So I can hit you with it.  I told you.”

“No.  That’s not true.  Why did you take off your watch?”

“You’re asking for it.”

“Why did you take off your watch?”

Later, I replace my watch on my wrist.  Predictably, Amy pipes up.  “Why did you put on your watch?”

“So I can punch you with it!”  (Which doesn’t actually make much sense.)

Instantly Amy moves a foot away from me and freezes like a deer in headlights.  But I keep my arm by my side, having already achieved the desired effect.  “Words are powerful things.”

“I like to be safe.”

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Amy Ess / Aug 7 2008 1:23 pm

    But why DID you take off your watch?

  2. April / Aug 7 2008 4:42 pm

    So I could…. ugh.

  3. Amy Ess / Aug 7 2008 11:44 pm

    WHY??????????

Leave a Reply

