Skip to content
22 July 2008 / April

This entry has many parentheses

Being an accompanist– pardon me, a “guest instructor”– at the Suzuki Institute has been mostly what I expected: lots of cute children and tiny violins (and violas); lots of cheery swinging of my FACULTY name tag (look, look at me! I’m FACULTY!); lots of guesswork as to whether the teacher is giving an introduction, or isn’t, or wants you to give an introduction; lots of different tempos by different people for the same pieces (annoying!); lots and lots and LOTS of Twinkle Variation A (why do they always choose that one?), Perpetual Motion, Allegro; lots of surprising gratitude that I’ve been well-trained, by Kreisler class with Kirsten, to watch like a hawk; and lots of, shall we say, strings-centric conversation.*

Carrie: “So what do you like to check out when you try out a bow?”
Me: “… As a pianist, I think I’m going to take my leave.”

(My initial typo-ed version replaced “leave” with “life,” which I find strangely amusing.)

The bad news is I have to be here at 8 in the morning when I’m about a centimeter awake [a gram? a milliliter? (There’s no way that’s actually how milliliter is spelled, but that’s what logic, Latin roots, and Firefox’s spell checker are telling me.**)].

The good news is I get done before 4, which means I have a good chunk of free time before my chauffeur arrives– assuming I do all my own practicing (yes! I practice for myself sometimes too!) during my lunch break. This means I get to sit outside (if the weather’s fine) or in the lounge and read about psychology and linguistics. Which is very nice.

And I think I’m going to do that right now.

DSCN4852

DSCN4853

DSCN4854

(No, I don’t know what those curtains are doing in the lounge. Or the orange juice carton next to the lamp post. I do know about the book and flip flops though. Incidentally, the only reason they’re on cement is because the grass was wet.)

*This sentence is ridiculous. Props to you if you actually read it.***

**Wait a second (cries logic), why aren’t meter and liter spelled similarly? Grr.

***Actually, props to you if you survived a reading of any part of this entry. Yay, props! We like props.

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Rachel / Jul 22 2008 6:04 pm

    Is that book good? I feel like I should read something by Steven Pinker.

  2. April / Jul 22 2008 8:03 pm

    Yes, quite. It’s funny and well-written enough to almost qualify as light summer reading while at the same time still having substance. It’s a good fit for anyone who took a fancy to NACLO. And his analysis of the first sentence of the Declaration of Independence is priceless…

    (I’ve also read How the Mind Works which is equally excellent.)

  3. Stacy / Jul 22 2008 8:13 pm

    Oh April. Every time I read your entries, I get all sentimental and “I CAN’T BELIEVE I’M GOING OFF TO COLLEGE WRRRRRRRRY”. (Typo intended!)

    That said, stay being awesome. 🙂

  4. April / Jul 22 2008 9:06 pm

    I will do my best…

    And I can’t believe you’re going off to college either! Hey, I should totally visit you at Bryn Mawr sometime! It’s affiliated with Swarthmore too, right?

  5. Stacy / Jul 23 2008 8:49 pm

    Yup! Swarthmore and Haverford. And I can also take classes at UPenn. 😀

Leave a Reply

