Skip to content
20 July 2008 / April

When life gives you lemons

As on Friday, yesterday I was at Brötchen for six hours.  Again it was roasting hot (=nice lemonade and ice cream sales), until it started raining at like 7 PM.  But you know what?  People will still buy ice cream in the rain!

Plus they had the added bonus of being amused at my water-collecting apparati (read: plastic cups), my crazy but lovable friends who took refuge under my umbrellas, and my general pitiable dampness.  And the precipitation stopped in like half an hour, in time for one of the busiest times of the day: evening.  Did you know that everyone wants ice cream in the evening?  Well, apparently, they do.

Then my cash register broke, so that was the end of that.

The lemonade sales also ended early because we ran out of lemons.  Tear tear.  But before we did, I had the pleasure of serving a number of “customer of the day” candidates…

The runner-up was a guy with dreads and a Silk Oak t-shirt (with a cow!), who while waiting for his lemonade had a serendipitous reunion with a friend with whom he’d gone to law school.  I’m a shitty estimator of ages, but I think this means they must have gone about a decade without seeing each other.  So that was cool.

Also, the friend had his family with him– a wife, a number of kids, some of whom were also wearing Silk Oak attire.  At one point the little girl tugged on her father’s shirt, looked up at him with those little girl eyes, and said in that little girl voice, “I’m thirsty.”

“Well,” he replied, “I think we’re in the right place for that.”  Her lemonade was made with our last certified organic lemon.

But the winning customer of the day was undoubtedly another father and his son.  The father, like many sympathetic customers, commented on what hard work it seemed to operate the lemon juicer– “Breaking all those cell walls…”

“The molecules, the atoms…” I thought maybe the son, probably only a middle schooler, would start splitting protons into quarks next, but his father interrupted first.  “Let’s save that for later.”

“Yeah, we don’t want any nuclear reactions here,” I pointed out.

Both laughed.  After a pause, the father said, “There’s just something so appealing about destroying the world with a lemon.”

“Well,” I mused, “the phrase is ‘When life gives you lemons, make lemonade,’ not ‘When life gives you lemons, make an atom bomb.'”

They tipped well.  Perhaps out of gratitude that all they got in their cup was lemonade.  I bet that family has awesome dinner table conversations too.

Incidentally, that phrase should go on a bumper sticker or something.  “When life gives you lemons, make an atom bomb and DESTROY LIFE and be all like, ‘What now, bitch?  Got any lemons for me now?'”  Okay, not that whole thing.  Just the first bit.

Anyway, today I went to my other two jobs.  How I started having three jobs, I have no idea.  At least Suzuki Institute will be only a week, and church is only on Sundays.  Whereas Brötchen seems to be “whenever we need you, thanks very much.”

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Kari / Jul 21 2008 3:24 am

    Oh April…how I’ve missed you.

  2. April / Jul 21 2008 8:15 pm

    We have to go get our coconut French sodas (or you can visit me at Brötchen) and talk talk talk. You HAVE to tell me all about Germany, for one thing.

Trackbacks

  1. Seen today « Circadian Rhythms
  2. Twelve hours downtown « Circadian Rhythms

Leave a Reply

