Skip to content
5 June 2008 / April

17 minutes

I’ve learned a couple things in the past 17 minutes.  Well, now it’s actually the 17 minutes that transpired about 9 minutes ago*, but I digress.

First of all, I learned it takes me about 17 minutes to walk from IHS to Cornell.  Or more specifically– seeing as Cornell is actually all over Ithaca so that statement is pretty meaningless– it takes me about 17 minutes to walk from IHS to Olin Library, where I am currently sitting and enjoying the beautiful air conditioning.

Seriously, why are libraries always over-air conditioned?

Usually that bothers me a lot, but since it’s currently 85 degrees and humid as a shower stall, I am by no means complaining.  It was this humid in the morning too, when it was also cloudy, so I intelligently brought along my sweet lifetime warrentied umbrella in the hopes that it would rain.  No such luck.  It’s still humid.  And now it’s sunny.  And my mom’s herb garden is dying for lack of rain.  Oh gods, have you no pity?

At any rate.  The second thing I learned was that my calculus presentation also takes about 17 minutes, which isn’t so good because the time limit is 10-15 minutes and we’re already running behind in the project schedule.  And if there’s anything I’ve learned in seminar, it’s that presentations consistently take about 10 minutes longer than you expect.

Actually, that’s only when Jonathan’s there asking questions.  Hey Calc class?  No questions, okay?  I promise to be as coherent as possible if you promise not to ask questions.  Deal?  Deal.

Also due tomorrow is my Physics Powerpoint, though I won’t be presenting at least.  I just realized that Ms. L kind of implicitly required us to do a Powerpoint, even though she initially said we could use any kind of visual aid.  For me and my topic, a Powerpoint is in fact easiest (since I’d have some trouble drawing a 7-D Calabi-Yau space freehand), but for others that isn’t necessarily the case.  Arbitrary format requirements in an AP class = bad.

I’ve been having a series of really long and exhausting days which REMINDS ME I really MUST rant about the choir concert yesterday.  I’ll put it after the jump because it might be a little lengthy and dull to people who don’t care about this sort of thing.

Anyway, so yeah.  Tuesday I had two consecutive rehearsals after school, Wednesday I had a piano lesson and then a concert, today I have the AATG tea and then another rehearsal, I have presentations all over the calendar and probably some more rehearsals I’ve just forgotten about.  Oh, and I guess the SATs are this weekend too, huh.  How glad I am that I’m only doing the reasoning test and not any subject tests.

So maybe May 18 wasn’t the busy/non-busy interface day.  But June 27 will be.  That’s a conservative estimate based on the failure of my previous one; secretly, I’m hoping it’ll be June 15.  Hoping hoping hoping.

*And now it’s the 17 minutes that was 45 minutes ago.  Time!  Why must it keep moving?

I hope to keep my language clean for this rant, but apologies in advance if I get carried away by anger.

I like to think I have fairly low expectations for concert etiquette at high school concerts.  People can occasionally slip in and out during a performance, maybe whisper something to a friend, surreptitiously check their cell phone messages– all these things are wrong but I tolerate them.

But it has never been as bad as it was at yesterday’s choir concert.

Generally, if someone leaves or enters while a performance is going on, they at least try to be quiet about it and stay in the back of the auditorium.  They don’t let the doors slam.  They don’t walk to the front rows to sit down and then proceed to have a long, not too quiet conversation with their friends.  They at least pretend to have a shred of respect for the performers.  Usually.  Did last night’s audience?  Apparently not.

Also, yeah music is very exciting, but don’t fucking sing along if you happen to know the song.  Sure, maybe it’s a middle school choir and you’re a high schooler (as if they won’t be high schoolers one day too) and you’ve sung this before and you can sing it better so why doesn’t everyone just listen to you instead of the people on stage who’ve worked their asses off to get a chance to share their music with you ungrateful brats?

And it’s okay to clap along sometimes if the performers are clapping too– if it seems like the appropriate kind of piece for audience participation– but if they stop, you should stop too.  Don’t ruin the rest of the piece by inanely clapping on off beats just because you failed to notice that everyone else isn’t.

Speaking of ruining a piece by clapping inanely.  ONLY APPLAUD FOR SOLOISTS IN THE MIDDLE OF A PIECE IF IT’S THE STYLE THAT CALLS FOR THAT KIND OF THING.  Basically, jazz and gospel.  Not most other genres, and definitely definitely DEFINITELY not classical.  The next time some moron claps in the middle of a Mozart, I will not only mime strangulation but leap off the stage in my beautiful black concert dress and actually strangle someone so they can suffer as the ghost of Mozart surely is.  I do not care that your beloved friend sang an amazing solo part and you feel overwhelmed with love and passion; you can wait till after the song is over to express your support.  Or you can clap in the middle and die at the hands of an angry musician.  The choice is yours.

Maybe the worst transgression was something I noticed only in the high school choir.  DO NOT FUCKING CLAP FOR YOURSELVES.  I can think of nothing ruder to do at a concert.  I do clap for our soloists (AT THE END OF THE PIECE) when they come up to bow, which maybe you aren’t supposed to do either, but I at least understand that because then it’s clear that you are recognizing another person.  If you stop singing and then immediately burst into applause for yourself, you are an idiot.  And not even a nice idiot– an arrogant, self-absorbed, egotistical, just plain rude idiot.  I know we are all pretty egotistical, but you don’t have to be so public about it.

….. I think that’s all.  I have a lot to say about the quality of our choir too, but that will have to wait for another post.

Leave a Reply

