Skip to content
30 May 2008 / April

Cake = love

So, you know, the cake was pretty good.

Hah. Actually it was amazing, rich and chocolatey and beautiful, really: so smooth that it shone under the fluorescent lights, and composed of layers of such smooth frosting and delicious cakey goodness, and topped with this extravagant sculpture of chocolate ribbon decorated with gold fractalicious designs and…

My powers of description just exploded.

I have made a mental note to visit Sarah’s Patisserie the next time I feel like splurging on dessert. In browsing their cake galleries, I actually just saw one that would be perfect for me and Marza’s Marza and my recital.* To Rachel, both for buying the cake for math seminar (after all our frantic last-minute emails) and for introducing me to this little bit of dessert heaven, I express my thanks.

The only thing better than the cake itself was witnessing Mr. D’s reaction upon seeing it on his desk. It was a priceless moment. It was the kind of moment that makes you remember why being nice is nice. If you know what I mean.

Then we delivered a slice to Mr. J, who was having (as he so eloquently put it) “a day from you-know-where” (oh, Mr. J…), and his appreciative response was equally gratifying.

On a less serious note, I’m pretty sure all hall monitors must realize by this point that we four seminarians wander the halls freely during 5th period and do whatever the hell we like, including bringing juniors into H-Courtyard (hi there!) and cake to department heads.

Still more reasons why math seminar kicks ass like none other.

*Embarrassingly, I had to look up the rules for this kind of possessive construction. Colloquially, this sounds right, but I think it’s also grammatically correct.  Edit: Also see the comment thread.  More thanks to Rachel.

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Rachel / Jun 1 2008 8:15 pm

    Sarah’s = amazing.

    On the possessive thing: I have to admit I don’t really know either, but your construction sounds weird to me, so I think maybe pronouns don’t follow the same rules as the nouns do in that tutorial. For example, would you really say “him and her wedding invitation,” not “his and her wedding invitation”? “His” and “her” are both the possessive forms, while “him,” which sounds weird, is the object form, like your “me.”

    In short, I think it should be “mine and Marza’s.” Maybe.

  2. April / Jun 1 2008 9:30 pm

    You make a good point. “Mine and Marza’s” still sounds repulsively wrong to me, but proper grammar often does.

    On a related note, aren’t you also supposed to make the 1st person pronoun second in the sentence? So what is it then– “Marza and mine recital”?

  3. Rachel / Jun 1 2008 10:06 pm

    I retract the suggestion of “mine and Marza’s.” “Marza and my,” I suppose?

  4. April / Jun 1 2008 10:09 pm

    Hm. I suppose. I guess I’ll edit the post then.

Trackbacks

  1. Impossible « Circadian Rhythms
  2. This was a natural next step. « Circadian Rhythms

Leave a Reply

