Skip to content
17 April 2008 / April

Thoughts thought solely for the purpose of this entry

For future reference: if you ever need to borrow $1 million from me, ask me on a day like this: 75 degrees, sunny, dry air, slight breeze, totally relaxed. You’ll probably get the money. And a hug. Or rather, you would get the money, if I ever in my life have anything remotely close to $1 million. But definitely the hug, which perhaps you could sell on eBay for $1 million.

I painted my toenails purple last summer. Eight months later, flip-flop season is once again upon us, and the nail polish STILL has not grown off my big toe. Which means I either have to paint my toenails purple again this summer, or chip the paint off laboriously since I can’t find our nail polish remover. Decisions, decisions.

I had so much fun playing my Chopin Scherzo (Op. 54? I think?) at kinda sorta actual tempo yesterday. All those notes that I toiled over, metronome tick by metronome tick! How easily now they spring willingly from my fingers, like cascading founts of joy! I still need to get the piece memorized though, and soon. All 960 measures of it.

Choosing to grow your hair long is such a different kind of choice than choosing to cut it. For one thing, it takes a lot longer, and the possibility of changing your mind only increases the longer you stick with your choice.

My mom suggested that if the number of walks I take is proportional to the niceness of the weather (which it seems to be, to an extent), I would take three today. Three at least. Oh, the weather; I could write about you all day.

The Making of the Atomic Bomb should be renamed “A Painstakingly Detailed Account of Nuclear Physics During the First Half of the 20th Century.” It’s actually quite good, if you’re interested in that sort of thing, though it is a little dated and very “rah America! boo rest of the world!” (which is somewhat understandable when “rest of the world” includes Hitler). But the story of the discovery of fission was actually the most exciting thing I’ve read in a long time.

Skipping around in our APUSH reading makes me more annoyed than just reading the whole textbook would. I hate that we read every page, this whole year, up until the end. I hate leaving things unfinished.

I laughed at my dinner the other day. Yay, towers of baguette slices!

Before you take pity on me for my meager fare, I should note that bread with melted cheese is one of my favorite meals, ever.

Maybe it’s time for another walk.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Rachel / Apr 18 2008 7:36 pm

    Oh, I hated that skipping around. I actually read the rest of it too, because I was terrified that it would show up on the SAT II.

    And, on a non-school-oriented note (for once!), my hair is about as long as yours now. (Oops, there goes the shock of when I walk into seminar on Monday … no, Tuesday … no, probably Thursday. If Mr. Drix asks on Monday, I’m actually not in school at all.) (Oops, I kind of ruined the not talking about school thing.)

  2. April / Apr 18 2008 8:29 pm

    AAAAHH!!! … Okay, I think I got most of my surprise out of my system. I hope that you have now learned that short hair is so much cooler than long hair in every possible way.

    Also I think you should come to seminar on Tuesday because that’s when we’re planning project dates.

Leave a Reply

