Skip to content
21 February 2008 / April

Junior award application

It only took me about ten minutes to write the student statement for my junior award application (“Tell us about a personal quality, talent, accomplishment, contribution or experience that is important to you…”).  But then I had to spend another 15 minutes just staring at it.

I could not believe it could be so easy.

It’s actually kind of embarrassing; they basically want me to brag about my wonderful achievements and I didn’t need to think twice about it.  Because, as I’m sure you’re all well aware, I have ego to spare.

I have so much ego that I didn’t even stoop to writing some kind of a normal response to this prompt– something with short sentences like “I have played the piano 13 years.  This shows that I am a very ambitious person.  I also have no life.  Yay!”  Oh no, I had to be all pretentious about it and write something that actually had a little style.  I had to type it up, for goodness’ sake.  I keep telling myself that this is because I can think better when I’m typing, I can correct things more easily, and it’s a heck of a lot more legible than my handwriting.  But who am I kidding?  I’m just too cool for pen and paper.

But it’s also handy if I want to use it as part of a college essay later on.  The power of copy and paste strikes again!

Maybe the fact that it’s typed and moderately interesting will compensate for my pitifully sparse community service section.  Oh god.  Hey community?  I promise I will serve you more in the future.  Really.  I’ll go out and build a house for you tomorrow.  Or I would, if it weren’t so damn cold.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Rachel Zax / Feb 21 2008 9:07 pm

    Does anyone ever have anything to put for community service?

    I just filled out an application for something today. Of the eight or so slots for community service, I filled just one. “Food kitchen. Participated 10/15/07 – 1/15/08. One hour a week.”

    Yes, those were my nine hours for Government.

    (Wait, that can’t be right … shit. I actually just realized that there are four weeks in a month, not three.)

  2. April / Feb 21 2008 10:32 pm

    Eight slots? They must do that just to shame you. And did you really do an extra three weeks of service because you forgot how many weeks were in a month? Oh, you good samaritan, you.

Leave a Reply

