Skip to content
4 September 2007 / April

Funny words

Is it just me, or do a lot of words referring to breakfast foods sound really funny?

Think about it. Muffins. Pancakes. Eggs. Bagels. Waffles. They all sound hilarious when you say them aloud. “Muffin,” for instance, would rank among my Top 5 Funniest Words list, if such a thing existed. “Waffle” is pretty high up there too. It must be that double “f.” Puffin. Fluffy. Kerfuffle. Hee hee! This is fun.

I wonder if there is just something about the nature of breakfast that makes it a magnet for funny-sounding words. Perhaps the incoherency rampant among sleepy people in the morning led to a number of bizarre words.

Or maybe I’m getting my correlation all backwards, and the words only sound funny because they are associated with breakfast.

I could easily tangetialize and talk about all the words I think sound funny, but I think it would be better for all involved parties if I just stopped.

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. BOB / Apr 12 2008 8:01 am

    ha ,ok

  2. Kati / Jan 1 2009 9:52 pm

    Sausage. And Shnossge. And shmoozhleshnossage. All derive from sausage, all funny.

  3. hotie / Oct 19 2009 6:15 am

    STRANGE!

  4. Ali Rice / Oct 30 2009 12:57 pm

    lol that is pretty funny
    muffin muffinm mufinnnnn lol it dose sound funny

Trackbacks

  1. Blurk « Circadian Rhythms
  2. Satan, oscillate my metallic sonatas « Circadian Rhythms

Leave a Reply

