Skip to content
1 July 2007 / April

Feeling old

My mom and I took a walk at the Cornell Plantations today.

I actually used to get this place confused with the old Plantations store downtown. Back when it still existed, anyway, where that cheap-o dollar store squats today. Man, I feel old saying that.

At any rate, it was a lovely day for a stroll: sunny and breezy, not devilishly hot, in fact rather chilly. We were climbing a somewhat steep hill and starting to sweat a little when suddenly I pointed and uttered a single word: “Tower!”

It was, in fact, a water tower. There was a pause.

I continued, “I’m just, uh, showing off my object-identifying skills.”

“Yeah, I really have no idea how to respond to that.”

“… If I were five, you could say, ‘Yes, April, very good!'”

“I’ll remember that next time.”

I wish I were still five years old. Approval was so easy to come by back then.

Yup, still feeling old.

Leave a Reply

