Skip to content
20 September 2006 / April

Tangentially speaking

In math class today, whilst speaking of groups and other such matters, we got off on a beautiful tangent. It was truly a wonder to behold: we were writing down theorems on subgroups one moment and discussing English grammar and Winston Churchill the next.

Math class in general is lots more fun this year than last, partly because of the teacher (who, by the way, was solely responsible for bringing up the topic of grammar) and partly because I actually have friends in the class. So in many ways it doesn’t even matter that the concepts we learn are quite challenging and the tests difficult.

Steve: “So now we’re going to play a game.”

Entire class: “Yay!!!” (We students of stress, we hunger for games.)

Steve: “You know how on Sesame Street they have this game where you guess which doesn’t belong? Well, you may have missed this show, but they did one on isomorphic groups.”

Ellen: “Wait, they did?”

Me: “Ellen. He’s kidding.”

Ellen: “Ooohh…”

Think of what today’s youth would be like if isomorphic groups were featured on Sesame Street. Either they would be exceedingly smart… or they would be so bored by television they’d go play outside and lose weight and develop life-long healthy exercise habits!

It’s a win-win situation. I’m contacting PBS Kids. Who’s with me?

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Karin / Sep 22 2006 8:36 pm

    Yup. I vote yes.
    Which reminds me, do you remember the show “Wishobone” (you can go to youtube and look it up, and they have some old episodes on there. I got curious yesterday.)? I really miss that. I mean, they had a show that got teensy-tiny little kids well-aquainted with classic literature. I’m going to blackmail them (or maybe just telepathically poke them with my pen) until they put that show back on. And The Magic Schoolbus. And pretty much all the shows that were on there in the 90s.

  2. April / Sep 22 2006 9:21 pm

    If you mean Wishbone, then yeah, I totally remember that. *hums* “What’s the story, Wishbone!” My sis and I used to watch that so much that we must’ve seen some like five times– that and Bill Nye, and Kratt’s Kreatures… ah, the television days of my youth.

Leave a Reply

