Skip to content
19 August 2006 / April

An extended ramble that had to be written

It rained for the first time in a long while this morning. At least, I think it did. I was asleep.

Let me back up. I knew it would rain last night, or rather early this morning, when I couldn’t fall asleep due to prolonged sneezing, nose-blowing, and watery eye-rubbing. Yes, allergies, because I’m allergic to humidity. I was awake until 3 AM. The humidity was skyrocketing; I could almost sense the dampers of my piano swelling, its keys sticking, the handle of my locker at school settling into its closed position, the clouds condensing and swelling with water.

I knew it was going to rain.

So I woke up at around noon, it was dark and wet outside, and nobody was home. Where the heck did they go? I hadn’t the faintest idea. I got up and stumbled to the dining room to find breakfast sitting cold under a pan cover and all the tea gone. (They were out shopping. I could have guessed.)

—–

My sister is leaving for college next Tuesday. Whoa.

Among other things like freed phone lines and practice time, that means I’m going to have more responsibilities. I’ve already been paying electric and credit card bills for my family, but now I’m going to have to arrange piano tunings and the like, all the little and not-so-little things that my sister used to take care of.

And I won’t have anyone to play Scrabble with, or annoy when I’m… not exactly bored, but unwilling to do anything else. And there’s going to be less food in the refrigerator, with fewer people to eat it.

—–

I think I’m supposed to be doing something in my role as The Tattler’s Office Manager. Like manage the office, or something. But the last time I went to IHS, this past Monday, they were laying down wet wax and performing other such maintenance duties, so we couldn’t even access The Tattler Office.

I don’t know if I’m cut out to have a position of even this small amount of “authority.” I joined The Tattler so I could write. Writing is really what I’m good at, not editing or managing offices. Despite the various perks of feeling special and being “in the know,” I almost feel I’d rather be just a plain old writer than a member of the esteemed editoriat.

Of course, editors can still write articles. But supposedly, they’re too busy doing more important editorial things. Like managing offices.

—–

Oh yeah. I wanted to clip my toenails today. You know, now that I think about it, I really don’t like clipping my toenails. It’s so much trouble. And it gets kind of uncomfortable too.

But if I put it off much longer, it’s going to be ugly.

Sigh. Really now. School’s coming up, I’m going to be swamped, positively inundated with homework that chances are I won’t want to do and will barely have the time or energy or willpower to do, I’m going to have so many things on my mind that they’ll come spilling out of my ears and probably end up as boring entries on this blog, and I’m complaining about having to clip my toenails?

Oh summer…

Leave a Reply

